ENRS Assemblies

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is the ENRS’s top decision-making body. Its members, ENRS coordinators, are appointed by the member countries’ ministers of culture or their counterparts. Each member country is represented by one person or, on occasion, by two. In either case each country has only one vote. The Steering Committee makes decisions regarding the ENRS’s strategy and projects.


Prof. Jan Rydel, Poland (chairman of the Steering Committee)

Dr Florin Abraham, Romania

Dr Réka Földváryné Kiss, Hungary

Dr Ján Pálffy, Slovakia

Prof. Matthias Weber, Germany


Advisory Board

The Advisory Board draws its members from among prominent representatives of the worlds of learning, culture and politics in ENRS member countries and in countries that are not yet full members but are interested in participating. The board’s principal responsibilities are commenting on the overall directions of the ENRS’s medium- and long-term development and representing the Network in its member countries and elsewhere.


Markus Meckel, Germany (chairman of the Advisory Board)

Ján Budaj, Slovakia

Dr Stephan Eisel, Germany

Prof. Josef Höchtl, Austria (observer)

Prof. Gen. Mihail E. Ionescu, Romania

Sandra Kalniete, Latvia (observer)

Robert Kostro, Poland

Dr Zoltán Maruzsa, Hungary

Prof. Marcela Sălăgean, Romania

Gentiana Sula, Albania (observer)

Prof. László Szarka, Hungary

Prof. Kazimierz Michał Ujazdowski, Poland


Academic Council

The Academic Council is made up of prominent historians and social scientists. Its principal tasks include suggesting areas of ENRS research and educational activities, reviewing proposals for scholarly projects, representing ENRS at conferences, congresses and scholarly meetings and evaluating the ENRS scholarly activities.


Prof. Attila Pók, Hungary (chairman of the Academic Council)

Prof. Peter Haslinger, Germany

Prof. Constantin Hlihor, Romania

Viliam Jablonický, Slovakia

Prof. Csaba Gy. Kiss, Hungary

Prof. Róbert Letz, Slovakia

Prof. Andrzej Nowak, Poland

Prof. Dariusz Stola, Poland

Acad. Răzvan Theodorescu, Romania

Prof. Stefan Troebst, Germany

Dr Oldřich Tůma, Czech Republic (observer)


Learn more:

>> Idea behind the Network

>> Our thematic priorities

>> A brief history

>> ENRS Office

© ENRS 2011-2018 | Design: m.jurko | Code: feb